Item No. 16



Name of Meeting: COUNCIL

Meeting Date: 24 May 2007

Directorate: Chief Executives

Corporate Manager: Francis Fernandes

Agenda Status: (Public part of Agenda)

Report Title	Appointments to Committees

1. Recommendations

- 1. That the appointments to Committees set out in the report be accepted.
- 2. That powers be delegated to the Interim Chief Executive to make relevant appointments to committees.
- 3. That powers be delegated to the Interim Chief Executive to appoint the Deputy Chair of Standards Committee.

2. Background

Following on from the earlier reports to this meeting on Political Structures and Proportionality, set out below are the proposed appointments to Committees made by the political groups.

The Independent and the Conservative group memberships were not available when this report was prepared and the Council is asked to delegate powers to the Interim Chief Executive to make the appointments when the details are available.

Overview & Scrutiny Management Committee (6 members)

Councillor Simpson (Chair), Councillor R Conroy (Deputy Chair), Councillors Capstick, Hollis. (1 Member to be confirmed)

Overview & Scrutiny Committee 1: Partnerships, Regeneration and Community Safety and Engagement (10 members)

Councillor Simpson (Chair), Councillor Capstick (Deputy-Chair), Councillors S Chaudhury, J Conroy, Wilson, P D Varnsverry. (4 Members to be confirmed)

Overview & Scrutiny Committee 2: Housing and Environment (9 members)

Councillor Hollis (Deputy-Chair), Councillors I Choudary, De Cruz, Garlick, Meredith, P M Varnsverry. (3 Members including the Chair to be confirmed)

Overview & Scrutiny 3: Improvement, Performance & Finance (9 members)

Councillor R Conroy (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Collins, Hawkins, Scott, Taylor, Yates. (3 Members including the Chair to be confirmed)

Appointments and Appeals Committee (7 members)

Councillor Woods (Chair), Councillor Glynane (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Beardsworth, Davies, I Markham. (2 Members to be confirmed)

Audit Committee (6 members)

Councillor Perkins (Chair), Councillor B Markham (Deputy-Chair), Councillors De Cruz, Scott. (2 Members to be confirmed)

General Purposes Committee (7 members)

Councillor Matthews (Chair), Councillor Garlick (Deputy-Chair), Councillors S Chaudhury, Scott, P M Varnsverry. (2 Members to be confirmed)

Licensing Committee (11 members)

Councillor Taylor (Chair), Councillor Matthews (Deputy-Chair), I Choudary, R Conroy, I Markham, P M Varnsverry, Wilson. *(4 Members to be confirmed)*

Planning Committee (11 members)

Councillor B Markham (Chair), Councillor Hollis (Deputy-Chair), Councillors Collins, J Conroy, Davies, Meredith, P D Varnsverry. (4 Members to be confirmed)

Standards Committee (9 members)

Mr Ian Harley (Independent Chair), D Hughes, M Edwards (Parish Council representatives), Councillors Capstick, Hawkins, Matthews. (1 Member to be confirmed and 2 Independent members to be nominated)

Background Papers

Title	Description	Source
FJF Files		

Frazer McGown, Meeting Services Team Leader – Extension 7101